ও আষাঢ়ের পূর্ণিমা আমার/My rain washed full moon, ও আমার চাঁদের আলো/Oh Dear Moonlight, on this evening in Phalgun, পূর্ণচাঁদের মায়ায় আজি ভাবনা আমার পথ ভোলে/The Spell Of The Full Moon

ও আষাঢ়ের পূর্ণিমা আমার, আজি রইলে আড়ালে–
স্বপনের আবরণে লুকিয়ে দাঁড়ালে॥
আপনারই মনে জানি না একেলা হৃদয়-আঙিনায় করিছ কী খেলা–
তুমি আপনায় খুঁজিয়া ফেরো কি তুমি আপনায় হারালে॥
একি মনে রাখা একি ভুলে যাওয়া।
একি স্রোতে ভাসা, একি কূলে যাওয়া।
কভুবা নয়নে কভুবা পরানে কর লুকোচুরি কেন যে কে জানে।
কভুবা ছায়ায় কভুবা আলোয় কোন্‌ দোলায় যে নাড়ালে॥

রাগ: পিলু-খাম্বাজ
(বঙ্গাব্দ): 1332
রচনাকাল (খৃষ্টাব্দ): 1925

My rain washed full moon

My rain washed full moon, this night you hide yourself from me –
Dressed in the translucence of dreams.
I wish I could guess what games you play in the courtyard of your own soul,
Do you search for yourself as you play hide and seek, or are you forever lost?
A game of memories abandoned and caught,
Of touching shores and restless currents afloat.
Sometimes invisible, sometimes in full sight, I wish I knew why,
In shadows chasing light, in darkness and shade,
You confuse me in this dream filled glade.

Raga Piloo Khambaj
Bengali calendar: 1332
1925 AD

Follow the link to hear the mellifluous Suchitra Mitra sing:

ও আমার চাঁদের আলো, আজ ফাগুনের সন্ধ্যাকালে
ধরা দিয়েছ যে আমার পাতায় পাতায় ডালে ডালে॥
যে-গান তোমার সুরের ধারায় বন্যা জাগায় তারায় তারায়
মোর আঙিনায় বাজল গো, বাজল সে-সুর আমার প্রাণের তালে তালে॥
সব কুঁড়ি মোর ফুটে ওঠে তোমার হাসির ইশারাতে।
দখিন-হাওয়া দিশাহারা আমার ফুলের গন্ধে মাতে।
শুভ্র, তুমি করলে বিলোল আমার প্রাণে রঙের হিলোল–
মর্মরিত মর্ম গো,
মর্ম আমার জড়ায় তোমার হাসির জালে॥

রাগ: বেহাগ-খাম্বাজ-বাউল
রচনাকাল (বঙ্গাব্দ): ১৮ মাঘ, ১৩২৯
রচনাকাল (খৃষ্টাব্দ): ১ ফেব্রুয়ারি, ১৯২৩
রচনাস্থান: শান্তিনিকেতন

Oh Dear Moonlight, on this evening in Phalgun

Oh dear moonbeam, on this evening in Spring
You have yielded to me in leaves and branches silvered with light
That song that floods from your bright heart reflects upon a million stars,
It plays here too, in my little world, and it sings to the beat of my soul.
All my wishes blossom forth at a touch of your smile,
The southerly breeze loses its way within my perfumed heart
Oh purest of light, you have swayed my soul with colours beyond compare,
My heart dances as it seeks capture in the bonds of a moonlit snare.

Raga Behag Khambaj
Bengali calender 1329
1923 AD

Follow the link to hear Suchitra Mitra once again, accompanied by Amjad Ali Khan Saheb on the sarod:

পূর্ণচাঁদের মায়ায় আজি ভাবনা আমার পথ ভোলে,
যেন সিন্ধুপারের পাখি তারা, যা য় যা য় যায় চলে॥
আলোছায়ার সুরে অনেক কালের সে কোন্‌ দূরে
ডাকে আ য় আ য় আয় ব’লে॥
যেথায় চলে গেছে আমার হারা ফাগুনরাতি
সেথায় তারা ফিরে ফিরে খোঁজে আপন সাথি।
আলোছায়ায় যেথা অনেক দিনের সে কোন্‌ ব্যথা
কাঁদে হা য় হা য় হায় ব’লে॥

রাগ: খাম্বাজ
রচনাকাল (বঙ্গাব্দ): 1328
রচনাকাল (খৃষ্টাব্দ): 1921

The Spell Of The Full Moon

The spell cast by the full moon makes me forget my thoughts
Like birds from a land by a faraway sea, they fly, they must fly, they must fly away.
In the melody of light and shade, a tune seems to call from a time long past
It calls to me to come fly, to fly far, to fly far away.
That land where the nights of my spring went leaving me,
There they still look to find soul mates.
In that realm of seeing and shadows a long forgotten sadness
Seems to clutch at its pain, and sigh, only sigh, in grief sigh away.

Raga Khambaj
Bengali calender 1328
1921 AD

Follow the link to hear Arundhuti HomeChowdhury sing:

One thought on “ও আষাঢ়ের পূর্ণিমা আমার/My rain washed full moon, ও আমার চাঁদের আলো/Oh Dear Moonlight, on this evening in Phalgun, পূর্ণচাঁদের মায়ায় আজি ভাবনা আমার পথ ভোলে/The Spell Of The Full Moon

Comments are closed.