আমি মারের সাগর পাড়ি দেব বিষম ঝড়ের বায়ে/Ami Marer Sagor Pari Debo/I will set sail upon this sea of trials

আমি মারের সাগর পাড়ি দেব বিষম ঝড়ের বায়ে
আমার ভয়ভাঙা এই নায়ে ॥
মাভৈঃ বাণীর ভরসা নিয়ে ছেঁড়া পালে বুক ফুলিয়ে
তোমার ওই পারেতেই যাবে তরী ছায়াবটের ছায়ে ॥
পথ আমারে সেই দেখাবে যে আমারে চায়–
আমি অভয় মনে ছাড়ব তরী, এই শুধু মোর দায়।
দিন ফুরালে, জানি জানি, পৌঁছে ঘাটে দেব আনি
আমার দুঃখদিনের রক্তকমল তোমার করুণ পায়ে ॥

রাগ: বাউল
তাল: কাহারবা
রচনাকাল (বঙ্গাব্দ): ৩০ পৌষ, ১৩২৮
রচনাকাল (খৃষ্টাব্দ): ১৪ জানুয়ারি, ১৯২২
রচনাস্থান: শান্তিনিকেতন

I will set sail upon this sea of trials

I will set sail upon this sea of trials amid a terrible storm
With this fearless vessel of mine.
With faith as my strength I venture out bravely with torn sails,
This boat will go to where you are on the other bank where it is sheltered.
The one who seeks me and my faith will show me the way –
I only have to set off on this boat fearlessly, that is all I have to do.
When the day draws to a close, I know, I will be able
To worship your merciful presence with the beauty that grows from my pain.

Raga: Baul
Beat: Kaharba
Written: 14th January, 1922
Santiniketan

Follow the links to listen to Suchitra Mitra sing:

Barnali Kar sing:

One thought on “আমি মারের সাগর পাড়ি দেব বিষম ঝড়ের বায়ে/Ami Marer Sagor Pari Debo/I will set sail upon this sea of trials

Comments are closed.