কোন্‌ সুদূর হতে আমার মনোমাঝে/Kon shudur hotey amar monomajhe/Where does this stream of words issue from

কোন্‌   সুদূর হতে আমার মনোমাঝে

বাণীর ধারা বহে– আমার প্রাণে প্রাণে।

আমি    কখন্‌ শুনি, কখন্‌ শুনি না যে,

কখন্‌ কী যে কহে– আমার কানে কানে॥

আমার ঘুমে আমার কোলাহলে

আমার আঁখি-জলে   তাহারি সুর,

তাহারি সুর জীবন-গুহাতলে

গোপন গানে রহে– আমার কানে কানে॥

কোন্‌   ঘন গহন বিজন তীরে তীরে

তাহার ভাঙা গড়া– ছায়ার তলে তলে।

আমি   জানি না কোন্‌ দক্ষিণসমীরে

তাহার ওঠা পড়া– ঢেউয়ের ছলোছলে।

এই      ধরণীরে গগন-পারের ছাঁদে   সে যে   তারার সাথে বাঁধে,

সুখের সাথে দুখ মিলায়ে কাঁদে

‘এ নহে এই নহে– নহে নহে, এ নহে এই নহে’–

কাঁদে কানে কানে॥

রাগ: পিলু-দেশ-মূলতান
তাল: দাদরা
রচনাকাল (বঙ্গাব্দ): আশ্বিন, ১৩২৫
রচনাকাল (খৃষ্টাব্দ): 1918
স্বরলিপিকার: দিনেন্দ্রনাথ ঠাকুর

Where does this stream of words issue from

Where does this stream of words issue from

To bless my mind, my heart and my soul.

Sometimes I listen, sometimes I fail to hear,

The words that are whispered in my ear.

In the midst of my sleep, and my waking hours too

Even my tears are set to that tune,

That tune that lives in the deepest recesses of my soul

In secret songs whispered only in my ear.

Where, by the banks of what dense loneliness

Are these words made and rearranged, in shadows.

I do not know with what breeze from the south

It rises and falls with the ripple of waves.

It joins the stars that shine above to the earth,

It mingles joy with sorrow and weeps

‘It is not this, it is not, nay nay, it is not this, it is not’ –

It weeps in my ear.

Raga: Piloo-Desh – Multan

Beat: Dadra

Written: 1918

Follow the links to hear Ritu Guha sing:

3 thoughts on “কোন্‌ সুদূর হতে আমার মনোমাঝে/Kon shudur hotey amar monomajhe/Where does this stream of words issue from

  1. “আমি কখন্‌ শুনি, কখন্‌ শুনি না যে, কখন্‌ কী যে কহে– আমার কানে কানে॥” – Sometimes I listen, sometimes I fail to hear, The words that are whispered in my ear.

    Jemon Rabindranath – Temon Anubad – Apurbo Ei Moner Abhidhan!

Comments are closed.