একটি চাউনি/Ekti Chauni/One glance

গাড়িতে ওঠবার সময় একটুখানি মুখ ফিরিয়ে সে আমাকে তার শেষ চাউনিটি দিয়ে গেছে।

 

এই মস্ত সংসারে ঐটুকুকে আমি রাখি কোন্‌খানে।

 

দণ্ড পল মুহূর্ত অহরহ পা ফেলবে না, এমন একটু জায়গা আমি পাই কোথায়।

 

মেঘের সকল সোনার রঙ যে সন্ধ্যায় মিলিয়ে যায় এই চাউনি কি সেই সন্ধ্যায় মিলিয়ে যাবে। নাগকেশরের সকল সোনালি রেণু যে বৃষ্টিতে ধুয়ে যায় এও কি সেই বৃষ্টিতেই ধুয়ে যাবে।

 

সংসারের হাজার জিনিসের মাঝখানে ছড়িয়ে থাকলে এ থাকবে কেন– হাজার কথার আবর্জনায়, হাজার বেদনার স্তূপে।

 

তার ঐ এক চকিতের দান সংসারের আর-সমস্তকে ছাড়িয়ে আমারই হাতে এসে পৌঁচেছে। এ’কে আমি রাখব গানে গেঁথে, ছন্দে বেঁধে; আমি এঁকে রাখব সৌন্দর্যের অমরাবতীতে।

 

পৃথিবীর রাজার প্রতাপ, ধনীর ঐশ্বর্য হয়েছে মরবারই জন্যে। কিন্তু, চোখের জলে কি সেই অমৃত নেই যাতে এই নিমেষের চাউনিকে চিরকাল বাঁচিয়ে রাখতে পারে।

 

গানের সুর বললে, ‘আচ্ছা, আমাকে দাও। আমি রাজার প্রতাপকে স্পর্শ করি নে, ধনীর ঐশ্বর্যকেও না, কিন্তু ঐ ছোটো জিনিসগুলিই আমার চিরদিনের ধন; ঐগুলি দিয়েই আমি অসীমের গলার হার গাঁথি।’

 

Image

 

THE LOOK

 

As he got on the train, he turned his face a little and gave me the gift of one final look.

Now where will I hide this little treasure in this vast world?

Where will I find a space for it where moments, minutes and seconds will not intrude?

Will this look fade away in that twilight where all the gold fades when clouds go to sleep? Will this be washed away by the same rains that wash the golden pollen out of the Nagkeshar blooms?

Why should this survive in the midst of a thousand mundane things in life – in the ephemera of a thousand useless words, under the weight of a thousand sorrows?

That gift of a moment came to me alone. I will keep this, strung as a pearl in my song, I will hold it to me with tune; I will preserve it as a painting on the walls of an eternal palace.

On earth, the wealth of kings and the riches of the wealthy are impermanent. But do tears not have that magical touch that can keep a look gifted in a moment, alive forever?

Then the tune paid heed and said, ‘Give it to me. I do not covet the wealth of kings nor the riches of the wealthy; these moments are what I fill my treasury with; they are my offerings to the Everlasting.’

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “একটি চাউনি/Ekti Chauni/One glance

  1. Ruma, ‘when clouds go to sleep’ – that floored me! That pen(read, keyboard) of yours is a treasure!

Comments are closed.