আমি কান পেতে রই ও আমার আপন হৃদয়গহন-দ্বারে বারে বারে/ Ami kaan petey roi o amar apon/ I listen carefully at the secret doors to my soul, again and again

আমি    কান পেতে রই      ও আমার   আপন হৃদয়গহন-দ্বারে   বারে বারে

কোন্‌   গোপনবাসীর কান্নাহাসির   গোপন কথা শুনিবারে–   বারে বারে ॥

ভ্রমর সেথা হয় বিবাগি   নিভৃত নীল পদ্ম লাগি রে,

কোন্‌   রাতের পাখি গায় একাকী সঙ্গীবিহীন অন্ধকারে   বারে বারে ॥

কে সে মোর   কেই বা জানে,   কিছু তার   দেখি আভা।

কিছু পাই   অনুমানে,   কিছু তার   বুঝি না বা।

মাঝে মাঝে তার বারতা   আমার ভাষায় পায় কি কথা রে,

ও সে   আমায় জানি পাঠায় বাণী   গানের তানে লুকিয়ে তারে   বারে বারে ॥

রাগ: বিভাস-বাউল

তাল: দাদরা

রচনাকাল (বঙ্গাব্দ): ২ শ্রাবণ, ১৩২৯

রচনাকাল (খৃষ্টাব্দ): ১৮ জুলাই, ১৯২২

স্বরলিপিকার: দিনেন্দ্রনাথ ঠাকুর

Rabi baul

I listen carefully                            at the secret doors to my soul, again and again

To the whispers of the one who hides within as he tells me his secrets, again and again.

The bees are drunk with need              for the blue lotus that blooms all alone,

What night bird is it that sings, lonesome in the darkness, again and again?

Who knows what he means to me, I simply see his fleeting presence,

Sometimes I feel his breath around me, sometimes I hardly know him.

Do his messages find voice in my words sometimes?

I only know that he speaks to me, hiding his words in song, again and again.

*****

Raga: Bibhas Baul

Beat: Dadra

Written: 18th July, 1922

Score: Dinendranath Tagore

Follow the links:

Debabrata Biswas:

Sahana Bajpaie: