আজু সখি, মুহু মুহু/Aju sakhi, muhu muhu/Today, dearest, every instant

আজু সখি, মুহু মুহু
গাহে পিক কুহু কুহু ,
কুঞ্জবনে দুঁহু দুঁহু
দোঁহার পানে চায়।
যুবনমদবিলসিত
পুলকে হিয়া উলসিত,
অবশ তনু অলসিত
মূরছি জনু যায়।
আজু মধু চাঁদনী
প্রাণউনমাদনী,
শিথিল সব বাঁধনী,
শিথিল ভই লাজ।
বচন মৃদু মরমর
কাঁপে রিঝ থরথর,
শিহরে তনু জরজর
কুসুমবনমাঝ।
মলয় মৃদু কলয়িছে ,
চরণ নহি চলয়িছে,
বচন মুহু খলয়িছে,
অঞ্চল লুটায়।
আধফুট শতদল
বায়ুভরে টলমল
আঁখি জনু ঢলঢল
চাহিতে নাহি চায়।
অলকে ফুল কাঁপয়ি
কপোলে পড়ে ঝাঁপয়ি,
মধু-অনলে তাপয়ি
খসয়ি পড়ু পায়।
ঝরই শিরে ফুলদল,
যমুনা বহে কলকল
হাসে শশি ঢলঢল —
ভানু মরি যায়।

রাগ: বেহাগ-কীর্তন
তাল: ঝাঁপতাল
রচনাকাল (বঙ্গাব্দ): 1290
রচনাকাল (খৃষ্টাব্দ): 1883

RK best

Aju sakhi, muhu muhu
Gahe piko kuhu kuhu,
Kunjabane dnuhu dnuhu
Dnohar paane chaay
Yubanmadabiloshito
Pulokey hiya ulashito,
Abasho tanu alashito
Muracchi jonu jaay
Aju madhu chandni
Prana-unmadoni,
Shithilo sab bnadhoni,
Shithilo bhoi laajo.
Bachan mridu marmar
Knapey rijho thorothoro,
Shihore tonu jorojoro
Kusumabonmajh.
Moloy mridu koloyiche,
Charan nahi choloyiche,
Bachan muhu khalayiche,
Anchal lutaay.
Adhphuta shatadolo
Bayubhor tolomolo
Ankhi joni dholodholo
Chahitey nahi chaay.
Alokey phul knapoyi
Kapoley porey jhnapoyi,
Madhu-onoley tapoyi
Khoshoyi paroo paay.
Jhoroyi sheerey phooldol
Yamuna bahe kolokolo
Hashe shashi dholodholo –
Bhanu mori jaay.

RK best

Today, dearest

Today, dearest, every instant,
Fills with birdsong near and distant.
As they sit in pairs in the grove,
They look at each other with love.
Drunk with the nectar of youth,
They thrill again and again, forsooth
As passion slowly numbs all feeling,
They faint with unbearable longing,
Says Radha.

Today a honey hued moon rises
My heart sways ecstatic,
All rules and bonds slacken.
Shame does not restrict my expression,
Words are spoken softly with feeling.
The air trembles with thrill.
The fever makes my body shiver,
In the midst of the flowers of the forest,
Says Radha.

The breeze blows gently here and there
I can barely move another step further
My words stumble as my breath catches
My veil trails behind me neglected.
The half opened lotus looks on,
Its petals ruffled by the breeze.
Half opened eyes drunk with love,
I can barely look upon my surroundings.
The flowers I tucked in my hair,
Gently fall on my cheeks and face.
Heated by the sweet breeze,
They cast themselves about my feet.
A gentle rain of blossom upon my head
As the Yamuna flows.
The moon smiles as it looks down,
The sun sets at the end of the day,

As Bhanu sings in praise

Raga: Behag
Beat: Jhnap Taal
Written: 1883

Follow the links to hear:
Kanika Bandopadhyay: http://youtu.be/PJK_G__Hbz0
A dance performance to the song: http://youtu.be/40WNc1h36R0

Image: http://www.gangesindia.com/radha-krishna-pata-painting

One thought on “আজু সখি, মুহু মুহু/Aju sakhi, muhu muhu/Today, dearest, every instant

  1. I like the poem in Bengali and English, also referring to the 2 videos which are enchanting.
    Thanks

Comments are closed.