Archive | April 7, 2013

জন্মকথা/Jonmokatha/The story of my birth

pic1-big

Image courtesy of: http://www.ngmaindia.gov.in/sh-jamini-roy.asp

জন্মকথা

খোকা মাকে শুধায় ডেকে–
“এলেম আমি কোথা থেকে,
কোন্খানে তুই কুড়িয়ে পেলি আমারে।’
মা শুনে কয় হেসে কেঁদে
খোকারে তার বুক বেঁধে–
“ইচ্ছা হয়ে ছিলি মনের মাঝারে।
ছিলি আমার পুতুল-খেলায়,
প্রভাতে শিবপূজার বেলায়
তোরে আমি ভেঙেছি আর গড়েছি।
তুই আমার ঠাকুরের সনে
ছিলি পূজার সিংহাসনে,
তাঁরি পূজায় তোমার পূজা করেছি।
আমার চিরকালের আশায়,
আমার সকল ভালোবাসায়,
আমার মায়ের দিদিমায়ের পরানে–
পুরানো এই মোদের ঘরে
গৃহদেবীর কোলের ‘পরে
কতকাল যে লুকিয়ে ছিলি কে জানে।
যৌবনেতে যখন হিয়া
উঠেছিল প্রস্ফুটিয়া,
তুই ছিলি সৌরভের মতো মিলায়ে,
আমার তরুণ অঙ্গে অঙ্গে
জড়িয়ে ছিলি সঙ্গে সঙ্গে
তোর লাবণ্য কোমলতা বিলায়ে।
সব দেবতার আদরের ধন
নিত্যকালের তুই পুরাতন,
তুই প্রভাতের আলোর সমবয়সী–
তুই জগতের স্বপ্ন হতে
এসেছিস আনন্দ-স্রোতে
নূতন হয়ে আমার বুকে বিলসি।
নির্নিমেষে তোমায় হেরে
তোর রহস্য বুঝি নে রে,
সবার ছিলি আমার হলি কেমনে।
ওই দেহে এই দেহ চুমি
মায়ের খোকা হয়ে তুমি
মধুর হেসে দেখা দিলে ভুবনে।
হারাই হারাই ভয়ে গো তাই
বুকে চেপে রাখতে যে চাই,
কেঁদে মরি একটু সরে দাঁড়ালে।
জানি না কোন্ মায়ায় ফেঁদে
বিশ্বের ধন রাখব বেঁধে
আমার এ ক্ষীণ বাহু দুটির আড়ালে।’

The story of my birth

The little boy asks his mother –
‘From where did I come?
Where did you find me dear?’
His mother smiles through tears of joy
Clasping him to her breast
‘You hid in the wishes of my heart.’
You were in the games I played,
And the make believe life I led
As to Shiva in my prayer,
I made you over and over.
With my gods you hid
Upon the highest seat,
It was you I worshipped
As my prayers to them I said.
In all the wishes of my heart
And all the love I have felt,
And the love of my mother
And her mother too.
In this ancient line of ours
In the lap of our household gods
Who knows how long
You have hidden and played.
When in my youth,
My heart blossomed,
You were the fragrance
That surrounded my form
With gentleness and grace.
Beloved of all the gods
You are as old as time
Twin to the light of dawn
You come from dreams
On currents of happiness
To live anew in my heart.
I look upon you speechless
I fail to understand the mystery that is you
How did you become mine alone?
With a kiss from you upon my brow
You became my child, I know not how
Now smiling sweetly upon the earth.
I am afraid of losing you somehow
That is why I hold you close
And feel empty if you move aside.
I do not what traps I must set,
To bind this treasure of the world
In the embrace of my two frail arms.