Archive | March 26, 2014

Two Rabindrasangeets based on Raga Paraj, a pre-dawn Raga of the Purvi Thaat: হৃদয়ে তোমার দয়া যেন পাই/Hridoye Tomar Doya Jeno Pai and তব প্রেম সুধারসে মেতেছি/Tobo Premo shudharoshe

 

 

Raga Paraj, a pre-dawn Raga of the Purvi Thaat and two Rabindrasangeets based on the raga

First, the raga, by Faiyaz Khan: Manmohan Brij Ko Rasiya

http://youtu.be/1jHh4HaWdig

 

***

Rabindrasangeet in the same raga:

হৃদয়ে তোমার দয়া যেন পাই।
সংসারে যা দিবে মানিব তাই,
হৃদয়ে তোমায় যেন পাই ॥
তব দয়া জাগিবে স্মরণে
নিশিদিন জীবনে মরণে,
দুঃখে সুখে সম্পদে বিপদে তোমারি দয়া-পানে চাই–
তোমারি দয়া যেন পাই ॥
তব দয়া শান্তির নীরে অন্তরে নামিবে ধীরে।
তব দয়া মঙ্গল-আলো
জীবন-আঁধারে জ্বালো–
প্রেমভক্তি মম সকল শক্তি মম তোমারি দয়ারূপে পাই,
আমার ব’লে কিছু নাই ॥

 

রাগ: পরজ
তাল: ত্রিতাল
রচনাকাল (বঙ্গাব্দ): 1316
স্বরলিপিকার: দিনেন্দ্রনাথ ঠাকুর, সুরেন্দ্রনাথ বন্দ্যোপাধ্যায়

 

 

 

Oh, that I may have your compassion within my soul
Whatever you hand to me in life I will bear,
If only I have you within my soul.
Your compassion as beacon to remind me
Eternally in life and in death
In sorrow and joy, in plenty and strife, of your presence –
Only if I have your compassion.
Your mercy will descend, blessings gentle upon my soul.
Your mercy shall be a flame of sanctity
In the midst of darkness befalling my life –
My love and my respect, all the strength within me,
All these are signs of your compassion alone,
For without you I have nothing of my own.

 

Raga: Paraj

Beat: Tritaal

Written: 1909

 

Follow the link to hear Ashoketaru Bandopadhyay sing:

***

 

 

তব প্রেম সুধারসে মেতেছি,

                          ডুবেছে মন ডুবেছে।। 

               কোথা কে আছে নাহি জানি–

    তোমার মাধুরীপানে মেতেছি, ডুবেছে মন ডুবেছে।।

 

রাগ: পরজ
তাল: ত্রিতাল
রচনাকাল (বঙ্গাব্দ): 1292
রচনাকাল (খৃষ্টাব্দ): 1885

 

I am intoxicated in the sweetness of your love

My mind is lost.

I do not know where the others are –

For I am taken up with drinking in your ambrosia,

My mind I have lost.

 

Raga: Paraj

Beat: Tritaal

Written: 1885

 

Follow the link to hear Ustad Rashid Khan sing: